BJP Eyes 6 LS Seats, Shiv Sena to Secure 3, NCP Set for 1 in Upcoming Lok Sabha Elections

Nagpur: In a strategic move ahead of the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, the BJP Vidarbha unit is poised to contest six out of the ten seats in the region, while ally Shiv Sena is likely to secure three, and NCP, one. Sources within the Mahayuti coalition revealed that the seat-sharing arrangement is in its final stages, with an official announcement expected soon.

Mission-45: BJP’s Ambitious Electoral Strategy

Under its ambitious ‘Mission-45’ campaign, the BJP has set a target to secure the maximum number of seats in the state. In the previous 2019 elections, the BJP had clinched five seats in Vidarbha, and three were secured by the undivided Shiv Sena as part of their alliance. NCP had won four, while Congress managed to secure just one seat. The initial plan was for each party in Mahayuti to contest the seats they had won in 2019 and share those won by the opposition.

Changing Dynamics and Complications

However, the political landscape has evolved with the split in Shiv Sena, and the situation has become more intricate with the Ajit Pawar-led NCP faction aligning with BJP and Sena in the government. Friction has emerged, notably with NCP MLA Dharmrao Baba Atram laying claim to the Gadchiroli LS seat. Atram expressed confidence in winning the seat and emphasized the importance of merit-based seat sharing for the alliance to achieve its target of 45 out of the 58 LS seats in Maharashtra.

Praful Patel’s Potential Candidacy

Senior NCP leader Praful Patel is reportedly eager to contest from Bhandara-Gondia, his former constituency where he had won thrice before losing in 2014 to then BJP candidate, now MPCC president Nana Patole. While Patel has not explicitly stated his intentions, he indicated last month to TOI that he is prepared to contest if Mahayuti wishes him to run from Bhandara-Gondia.

BJP’s Seat Aspirations and Sena’s Preparedness

Reflecting the BJP’s desire to maximize its seat count, State Vice-President Sanjay Bhende asserted their claim for the Ramtek seat. Bhende highlighted that while candidates, including former Umred MLA Sudhir Parwe and former district chief Arvind Gadbhiye, are ready, the final decision rests with the senior leadership of the three parties. Sena MP from Ramtek, Krupal Tumane, expressed confidence in winning with a larger margin than in 2019 and affirmed that the final decision on seat sharing would be made by Sena leaders in Mumbai.

The political chessboard is set, and as the Mahayuti coalition navigates the intricacies of seat distribution, political enthusiasts await the official announcement that will shape the battleground for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Nagpur Updates

Nagpurupdates is your local/Digital news, entertainment, Events, foodies & tech website. We provide you with the happening news, Page3 Contain and all about Nagpur Foodies & Infrastructure from the Nagpur and world.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Ads Blocker Detected!!!

We have detected that you are using extensions to block ads. Please support us by disabling these ads blocker.

Adblock Detected

Disable Your Add Block To View Page.