Nagpur Lok Sabha Election 2024: Unraveling the Constituency Tapestry

Nagpur Lok Sabha Election 2024 Overview

Nagpur Lok Sabha Election 2024: Nagpur, a pivotal Lok Sabha constituency in Maharashtra, holds a significant role in the state’s political landscape. With 48 parliamentary seats (Party wise Candidates List.), Nagpur comprises six Assembly segments, namely Nagpur South West, Nagpur South, Nagpur East, Nagpur West, Nagpur Central, and Nagpur North. This general seat has witnessed the dominance of major political players like the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Congress, and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).

Historical Triumphs and Notable Leaders

Congress leader Vilas Muttemwar’s four consecutive wins from 1998 to 2009 and Banwarilal Purohit’s triumphant three terms in 1984, 1989, and 1996 have left an indelible mark on Nagpur’s political legacy.

Nagpur Constituency Demographics

According to the Election Commission data from the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections, Nagpur had 21,61,096 voters, including 10,97,087 males, 10,63,932 females, and 77 belonging to the third gender. Postal votes reached 4,336, with 879 service voters (757 men and 122 women). In 2014, the voter count was 19,00,784, with 9,80,485 males, 9,20,265 females, and 34 in the ‘others’ category.

Nagpur Election Winners (2019 and 2014)

In 2019, senior BJP leader Nitin Jairam Gadkari secured victory with a substantial margin of 2,16,009 votes, garnering a 55.61% vote share. The 2014 elections saw Gadkari’s first triumph, defeating Congress candidate Vilas Muttemwar by 2,84,848 votes.

  • Vilas Muttemwar (Congress): 2009, 2004, 1999, 1998
  • Banwarilal Purohit (BJP): 1996
  • Datta Meghe (Congress): 1991
  • Banwarilal Purohit (Congress): 1989, 1984
  • Jambuwantrao Bapurao Dhote (Congress): 1980
  • Mancharsha Awari (Congress): 1977

None of the Above (NOTA) Trend

The conscientious stand of voters opting for NOTA was notable in 2019 and 2014, with 0.39% and 0.32% respectively choosing this option.

Nagpur Voter Turnout and Election Timelines

The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections witnessed a voter turnout of 54.88%, with 11,86,051 valid votes. In 2014, the turnout was 57.08%, totaling 10,85,038 valid votes.

  • Poll Dates:
    • 2019: April 11
    • 2014: April 10
  • Result Dates:
    • 2019: May 23
    • 2014: May 16

Number of Polling Stations

The 2019 elections had 2,065 polling stations, while the 2014 elections had 1,828 polling stations in the Nagpur constituency.


  1. Are there any reserved seats in Nagpur constituency?
    • Nagpur constituency is a general seat and is not reserved for Scheduled Castes (SCs) or Scheduled Tribes (STs).
  2. Who are the major political parties in Nagpur?
    • The prominent political parties in Nagpur include the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Congress, and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).
  3. How many times has Vilas Muttemwar represented Nagpur?
    • Vilas Muttemwar has represented Nagpur four times consecutively in 1998, 1999, 2004, and 2009.
  4. What is the voter turnout trend in Nagpur?
    • The voter turnout in Nagpur was 54.88% in 2019 and 57.08% in 2014.
  5. When were the 2019 and 2014 election results announced?
    • The 2019 election results were announced on May 23, while the 2014 results were announced on May 16.

Nagpur Updates

Nagpurupdates is your local/Digital news, entertainment, Events, foodies & tech website. We provide you with the happening news, Page3 Contain and all about Nagpur Foodies & Infrastructure from the Nagpur and world.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Ads Blocker Detected!!!

We have detected that you are using extensions to block ads. Please support us by disabling these ads blocker.

Adblock Detected

Disable Your Add Block To View Page.